Wednesday, November 2, 2005

A Tribute to a True Leader

Please click here for the Main Page of Philippine Commentary

The following full page Announcement appeared in the major Manila newspapers today, in regards to former President Corazon Aquino's being awarded the David Rockefeller Bridging Leadership Award. Below, list of signatories is significant because of who is on it publicly backing Cory Aquino, who is leading a veritable MoRAL CRUSADE against the regime of President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. (It is being posted here at Philippine Comnmentary because it may not be available online...)

Former President CORAZON C. AQUINO will receive the prestigious David Rockefeller Bridging Leadership Award November 2, 2005. This award recognizes outstanding individuals who have helped unite various sectors and groups to address poverty and human suffering.

We salute Mrs. Aquino, who embodies the leadership qualities so difficult to find in current times. She has led us through our difficult periods as a nation. She has been with us in our struggles to regain, strengthen, and defend our democracy. Even now, she inspires and guides our efforts to seek truth, justice and good governance.

Mrs. Aquino never sought prestige and power. She reluctantly ran for President in the 1986 snap elections only after overwhelming public clamor. In doing so, she helped people find their own voices and stand for their values. Upon assuming the Presidency through a peaceful People Power revolution she dismantled Marcos' Martial Law apparatus and restored democratic institutions in the country. In the process, she survived seven coup attempts, never resorting to martial or emergency rule. At the end of her term, she turned over the reins of government to her duly-elected successor and quietly returned to her private life.

As a private citizen, Mrs. Aquino continues to inspire and lead by example. She has identified and honored community leaders through her People Power Movement and supported non-government organizations in their work. She has promoted leadership training for future leaders. And she is now embarking on a new project on microenterpreneurship to ec onomically empower the poor.

The David Rockefeller Bridging Leadership Award affirms what we have known for many years--the integrity and self-sacrifice of Mrs. Aquino. She has shown outstanding moral courage, daring to do what is right no matter how unpopular or risky.

In receiving the Rockefeller Award along with former World Bank President James Wolfensohn, Mrs. Aquino -- earlier recognized by Time Magazine as Person of the Year 1986 -- once again brings honor to the country.

In her we find true leadership. MABUHAY!

Florencio Abad, Henedina Abad, Carmencita Abella, Ernie Aboitiz, Emily Abrera, Neric Acosta, Fernando T. Aldaba, Felipe Alfonso, Guiameel Alim, Aris Alip, Ansari Alonto, Abdurahman Amin, Teresity Ang See, Eugenia D. Apostol, Emmanuel Areno, Fr. Catalino Arevalo, S.J., Felicitas Aquino-Arroyo, Prescilla R Atuel, Fe Ayala, Chito Ayala, David L. Balangue, Alfredo R.A. Bengzon, Amina Rasul-Bernanrdo, Fr. Joaquin G. Bernas, S.J., Dean Jorge Bocobo, Emilia Boncodin, Rafael Buenaventura, Cesar A. Buenaventura, Gerry Bulatao, Clifford Burkley, Fr. Carmelo Caluag, Ruth Callanta, Zac aria Can dao, Rowel Candelaria, Ricky Carandang, Eduardo Carrascoso, Marilyn Cepe, Francis Chua, Jose Concepcion, Jr., Jose L. Cuisia, Enrico Dayanhirang, Howard Dee, Teresity Quintos-Deles, Maria Socorro I. Diokno, Carlos G. Dominguez, Jr., Faysah Dumarpa, Baltazar Endriga, Joselito L. Erana, Ching L. Escaler, Fulgencio Factoran, Jr., Jose A. Feria, Paula K. Feria, Teresa Banaynal-Fernandez, Bro. Edmundo Fernandez, FSC, Oscar Francisco, Fr. Manoling Francisoc, SJ, Victoria Garchitorena, Ernesto D. Garilao, Peter D. Garucho, Jose Luis Martin Gascon, Jacinto Gavino, Edward S. Go, Corazon Guidote, Cielito F. Habito, Doris Magsaysay-Ho, Maan Hontiveros, Fr. Patrick Daniel Huang, SJ, Monico Jacob, Danny Javier, Vicente Jayme, Jose de Jesus, Edilberto de Jesus, Jr., Nanette Kagaoan, Gerry Kaimo, Lorna Kapunan, Ana Marie Karaos, Bainon Karon, June Keithley, Bitay Lacson, Augusto Lagman, Oscar Lagman, Yasmin Busran Lao, Chech Lazaro, Bishop Antonio Ledesma,Zosimo Lee, JOsie Lichauco, Francisco Licuanan, Alberto Lim, Narzalina Z. Lim, Alberto Lina, Cleofe Lllamas, Victoria Loanzon, Louie Barcelon Locsin, Teodoro L. Locsin, Jr., Msgr. Merlin Logronio, Gina Lopez, Cristina Lopez, Jose Ma. Lopez, Bro. Armin Luistro, FSC, Guillermo D. Luz, Sixto Donato Macasaet, Fr. Jose Magadia, SJ, Damaso Magbual, Sen. Ramon Magsaysay, Jr., Cecilia Manahan, Mahar Mangahas, Bro. Robert McGovern, Angelita Gregorio Medel, Fr. Eliseo Mercado, OMI, Jose Ricardo Molina, Lourdes Montinola, Aurelio R. Montinola III, Vitaliano Nanagas III, Leah Navarro, Pauline L. Nayra, Elizabeth Nelle, Ricardo Nepomuceno, Bernie M. Nepumuceno, Imelda Nicolas, Bro. Bernie Oca, FSC, Jude Ocampo, Roberto F. de Ocampo, Yoly Villanueva-Ong, Ernesto Ordonez, Sergio Ortiz-Luis, Bettina Lopez Osmena, Sen. Serge Osmena, Cayetano Paderanga, Cresente Paez, Luz Palacios, Manuel V. Pangilinan, Patrick Pantaleon, Marieta Paragas, Guillermo Parayno, Jose Pardo, Marilyn Pardo, Jim Paredes, Ric Pascua, Bridget Pawid, Corazon S. dela Paz, Miguel Perez-Rubio, Presy Lopez Psinakis, Cesar Purisima, Manuel L. Quezon III, Susi Quiros, Jose Y. Quiros, Santanina Rasul, Susan D. Reyes, Remedios Ignacio-Rikken, Jesse Robredo, JOel Rocamora, Juan Jose Rocha, Vicente Romano III, Ricardo J. Romula, Ramon del Rosario, Jr., Pedro E. Roxas, Sen. Manuel Roxas II, Irene Morada Santiago, JUan Santos, Asuncion Santos, Paulyn Sicam, Corazon Juliano-Soliman, Danilo Songco, Mardi-Mapa Suplido, Luigi Tabuena, Bishop Luis Antonio Tagle, Mario Taguiwaolo, Bienvenido Tan, Karen Tanada, Wigberto Tanada, July Teehankee, Aurora Francisco-Tolentino, Phli9p Tuano, Ed Ugalde, Mila Magsaysay Valenzuela, Priscilla D. Valmonte, MIguel Varela, Rene Villa, Marilyn Villapando, Veronica Fenix Villavicencio, Bro. Eddie Villanueva, Bishop Socrates Villegas, Bernardo M. Villegas, Elizabeth Yang, Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala.

Perusing the signatories will reveal the breadth and depth of the democratic opposition to the continued illegitimate rule of Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. Corazon Aquino has become the most powerful leader and avatar of that movement of many forces in Philippine society. Their numbers already far outnumber and outweigh in significance members of the Erap-associated opposition and the Left. I am proud to stand with these men and women of the Philippines. The future is ours because we believe in freedom, democracy and justice. World without end!


Rizalist said...

A Warm Welcome Traveler!

I like getting to know my visitors. So leave me a sign that you've been here. Thanks.

Have a look around. Enjoy!

Rizalist said...

You can also email the author click here.

Rizalist said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.